Soustons, between forest and ocean

Bordered by the Atlantic Ocean on the south coast of the Landes, bathed by five lakes and surrounded by the largest forest in Europe, Soustons enjoys a privileged location at the gates of the Basque Country, Spain and the Pyrenees ... Thanks this exceptional natural environment, its land, its strong traditions, offers year-round Soustons a diverse range of leisure, discoveries, to the delight of adults ... and smaller. This richness, its pleasant climate and hospitable people make Soustons a tourism resort ideal for family holidays.

Sports at will!
Its wide open spaces that are the ocean and its endless beach, lakes or rivers connected by trails and pine forests populated slender, offers the best in Soustons: lifeguards at the beach and ocean on the marine lake, an abundance water sports (sailing, catamaran sailing, windsurfing, canoeing, rowing), 70 km of hiking trails in the forest, a bike path that connects Soustons in Port Albert, mountain bike trails, a golf course ( nine-hole course), many opportunities for fishing and surfcasting ... The beautiful scrolls of the ocean are of Port d'Albret one of the wildest spots on the Atlantic coast, which attracts more and more surfers ... A multitude of sports for everyone!

Recreation throughout the year
Cultural life is equally rich. The traditional tulip festival in the spring brings each edition more than 10,000 spectators and ushers in the beginning of the tourist season in an original, in color. Follow in the season the Gastronomic Fair of 5 Terroirs Landais, the great Country Day Departmental, Grand Truc Gascon (Gascon party). Note: the Festival of Lyric Art that takes place each summer in Soustons attracts many music lovers from all over Aquitaine.

Authentic heritage to discover
Soustons is a village that lives year-round and carefully cultivates its traditions and its unique environment. Museum of Traditions and Old Tools Pandelle of the castle, the church with its Romanesque porch, beautiful half-timbered houses Landes, the old wash houses, the fountain of the Viscount, the memorial François Mitterrand, craftsmen, and nearby, its nature reserves and parks are a must.

Fairs, bandas and bodegas!
Soustons and the south coast of the Landes are of very regularly their best clothes. Thus from 1 May, appear planted here and there all pretty flower pins, it is the "but" who honor their recipients and give rise to the traditional festivals of Maïade. Then the holidays are soustonnais neighborhoods that are connected: the Hardy Sterling, Mora, Costemale ... But it is above the summer ferias Southwest know their heyday. Thus the holiday Soustons that last five days in August every festayres attract aficionados. Racing cows Landes, bullfight, performances of waders and Basque pelota tournaments succeed to the delight of visitors. The evening is the "the Heste" in all the bodegas of the city: we sing, we dance there and there toast until very late at night. Five days the daily stops to make room for excess. A highlight not to be missed!

A renowned gastronomy
The South West of France and especially the Landes benefit of a generous nature which results in a renowned gastronomy. Soustons and its surroundings offer many traditional restaurants and farms tastings where you can enjoy without moderation to the delights of the land recognized Landes - foie gras, confit, cabbage soup, meat pie - or less known kiwi, peanut ... Not to mention pancake houses, pizzerias, pubs, snack bars ...

Services first!
Town hall, post office, doctors, transport, shops, supermarket ... Soustons is a city that lives all year and has all the services! Moreover, nearly one hundred associations make up the associative landscape of the city, show a dynamism that does more shows.
Welcome to Soustons!

Soustons, practical

Soustons, making history
Soustons is located on the old bed of the Adour, deflected in the Middle Ages to Bayonne. "Boucau" Landais patois means "mouth" and thus found the town of Old Boucau Soustons nearby, where the river once flowed, and that of Boucau, Bayonne to meet the southern end of the Landes where the Adour flows today. His story remains strongly identified with the naval stores who harvested the pine resin, cork and cork who were recovering on oaks. Soustons was also the resort of François Mitterrand, who came to seek peace and quiet in the fold of Latché for 35 years. A statue of former President of the Republic with his dog is in front of the Tourist Office.

Bike paths
Soustons / Soustons-track 7 km with 4.6 km in the middle of the forest
Soustons-Beach: round the marine lake 4 km.
Other possibilities for Soustons
Bike path by joining the North Shore: Old Boucau Messanges, Moliets, Leon (Soustons / Leon 20 km).
Bike path by joining the south coast: Seignosse, Hossegor, Capbreton, Labenne (Soustons Labenne just over 30 km).

Hiking trails
GR8 marked 20 km (around the marine lake).
Loop Marensin 10 km and 5 km marked out (departure and arrival at the campsite of Airial).

Soustons, entre forêt et océan

Bordé par l’Océan Atlantique sur la Côte sud des Landes, baigné par cinq lacs et entouré du plus vaste massif forestier d’Europe, Soustons bénéficie d’une situation privilégiée aux portes du Pays Basque, de l’Espagne et des Pyrénées… Grâce à cet environnement naturel d’exception, son terroir, ses traditions solidement ancrées, Soustons propose toute l’année une gamme variée de loisirs, de découvertes, pour le bonheur des grands… et des plus petits. Cette richesse, son climat agréable et l’hospitalité de ses habitants font de Soustons une station de tourisme idéale pour des vacances en famille.

Sports à volonté !
De ses grands espaces que sont l’Océan et sa plage sans fin, ses lacs reliés par sentiers ou rivières et la forêt peuplée de pins élancés, Soustons en propose le meilleur : baignades surveillées à la plage océane et sur le lac marin, une foison de sports nautiques (voile, catamaran, planche à voile, canoë-kayak, aviron), 70 km de circuits de randonnées en forêt, une piste cyclable qui relie Soustons à Port d’Albert, des pistes de VTT, un terrain de golf (parcours de neuf trous), de nombreuses possibilités de pêche et de surfcasting… Les magnifiques rouleaux de l’Océan font de Port d’Albret un des spots les plus sauvages de la côte Atlantique qui attire de plus en plus de surfeurs… Une multitude de sports pour tous les goûts ! 

Des loisirs tout au long de l’année.
La vie culturelle est tout aussi riche. La traditionnelle fête de Tulipe au printemps rassemble à chaque édition plus de 10.000 spectateurs et inaugure le début de la saison touristique d'une façon originale, en couleurs. Suivent dans la saison le Salon Gastronomique des 5 Terroirs Landais, la grande Fête Champêtre Départementale, le Grand Truc Gascon (fête gasconne). A noter : le festival d’Art Lyrique qui se déroule chaque été à Soustons attire de très nombreux mélomanes, venus de toute l’Aquitaine. 

Un patrimoine authentique à découvrir.
Soustons est un village qui vit toute l’année et qui cultive avec soin ses traditions ainsi que son environnement exceptionnel. Le musée des Traditions et des Vieux Outils au château de la Pandelle, l’église avec son porche Roman, les belles maisons landaises à colombages, les anciens lavoirs, la fontaine du Vicomte, le mémorial François Mitterrand, ses artisans, et tout proches, ses réserves et parcs naturels sont incontournables. 

Ferias, bandas et bodegas !
Soustons et la côte sud des Landes revêtent très régulièrement leurs habits de fête. Ainsi dès le 1er mai, apparaissent plantés ça et là de jolis pins tout fleuris, ce sont les "mais" qui honorent leurs destinataires et qui donnent lieu aux traditionnelles fêtes de la Maïade. Puis se sont les fêtes des quartiers soustonnais qui s’enchaînent : le Hardy, Sterling, Mora, Costemale... Mais c’est surtout l’été que les férias du Sud-ouest connaissent leur apogée. Ainsi les fêtes de Soustons qui durent cinq jours en août attirent tous les festayres aficionados. Courses de vaches landaises, novillada, spectacles d’échassiers et tournois de pelote basque se succèdent pour le plus grand plaisir des visiteurs. Le soir, c’est la "la heste" dans toutes les bodegas de la ville : on y chante, on y danse et on y trinque jusque très tard dans la nuit. Cinq jours pendant lesquels le quotidien s’arrête pour laisser place à la démesure. Un temps fort à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte !

Une gastronomie réputée.
Le Sud-Ouest de la France et particulièrement les Landes bénéficient d’une nature généreuse qui se traduit par une gastronomie réputée. Soustons et ses environs proposent de nombreux restaurants traditionnels et fermes-dégustations où l'on peut goûter sans modération aux délices reconnus du terroir landais - foie gras, confits, garbure, tourtière - ou moins connus kiwi, cacahuète... Sans oublier crêperies, pizzerias, brasseries, snack-bars…

Des services avant tout !
Mairie, poste, médecins, transports, commerces, hypermarché… Soustons est une ville qui vit toute l'année et qui dispose de tous les services ! D’autre part, près de cent associations composent le paysage associatif de la ville, preuve d’un dynamisme qui ne se démontre plus. Bienvenue à Soustons !

Soustons, pratique

Soustons, une page d'histoire.
Soustons est située sur l’ancien lit de l’Adour, déviée au Moyen-âge vers Bayonne. "Boucau" en patois landais veut dire "bouche" et c’est ainsi que l’on retrouve la ville de Vieux-Boucau, voisine de Soustons, où se jetait autrefois le fleuve, et celle de Boucau, face à Bayonne à l’extrémité sud des Landes où se jette aujourd’hui l’Adour.  Son histoire reste cependant fortement identifiée aux résiniers qui récoltaient la résine des pins, et aux bouchonniers qui récupéraient le liège sur les chênes. Soustons fut également le lieu de villégiature de François Mitterrand qui vint chercher calme et repos dans la bergerie de Latché pendant 35 ans. Une statue de l’ancien Président de la République accompagné de son chien se trouve juste devant l’Office de Tourisme.

Pistes cyclables.
Soustons / Soustons-plage 7 km  dont 4,6 km au milieu de la forêt.
Soustons-plage : tour du lac marin 4 km. 
Autres possibilités depuis Soustons :  Rejoindre par piste cyclable le littoral nord : Vieux Boucau, Messanges, Moliets, Léon (Soustons / Léon 20 km).
Rejoindre par piste cyclable le littoral sud : Seignosse, Hossegor, Capbreton, Labenne (Soustons Labenne un peu plus de 30 km). 

Circuits de randonnée.
GR8 20 km balisé (tour du lac marin ).
Boucle du Marensin 10 km et 5 km balisée (départ et arrivée au camping de l'Airial).